DJSmilesDavis Weblog
Music Transends Time & Space

Odetta is Queen

odetta.jpg I wandered if I would find another album that I enjoyed listening to as much as I did Judy Mowatt’s Black Woman an album that is full of soul and spiritually enlightening. That’s a strong statement, at least I didn’t expect it to happen so soon. A little birdie dropped The Essential Odetta my way this afternoon. He said “I think you might like this,” he couldn’t have been more right.

Civil Rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr. anointed Odetta “The Queen of American Folk Music,” in 1961. That’s quite the title. She had a subsequent influence on artist like Bob Dylan and Janis Joplin. Two of the few Folk artists I can listen to on a daily basis besides Simon & Garfunkel. Director Martin Scorcese highlights her influence on Dylan in the 2005 documentary No Direction Home. Can’t say I’ve seen it but I will look for it.

Maya Angelou once stated “If only one could be sure that every 50 years a voice and a soul like Odetta’s would come along, the centuries would pass so quickly and painlessly we would hardly recognize time.” I dig it. From what I hear, Odetta still performs at McCab’s Guitar Shop in Santa Monica. Gotta check into that! Have a listen.

b000000ebu01_sclzzzzzzz_.jpg
Odetta The Essential Odetta

I’ve never heard anyone use their voice to make sound effects more adequately than Odetta. Check this video of her.
One Response to “Odetta is Queen”

  1. Thx 4 turning me on to this, pretty coolhuh my mom saw her when she was in collage


Leave a Reply

