DJSmilesDavis Weblog
Music Transends Time & Space

Miles and Miles

davis_miles.jpg“You want to know how I started playing trumpet? My father bought me one and I studied the trumpet…”

miles1.jpg
“And everybody I heard that I liked, I picked up things from.”

click thru for more quotes, images, performances, and interviews with Miles Davis

miles-davis-tutu-album-cover-thumb.jpgmiles-davis-tutu-album-cover-thumb.jpg

“There’s No Jazz Anymore”

I just read the page turner, ‘Miles: The autobiography of Miles Davis’ and loved it.  Although, alot people claim Miles makes some false accusations in the book and that his memory didn’t serve him correctly. Maybe so, Miles still gets you with his soulful no BS vernacular.  All that history I don’t think I would have remembered a 1/3 of it had I been creamed half my career.  Miles introduced me to many artist I was in the dark about.  Highly recommended. 

” If you sacrifice your art because of some woman, or some man, or some colour, or for some wealth, you can’t be trusted.”

miles_davis_tutu_b.jpg
“Americans don’t like any form of art, man. All they like to do is make money…”

mileshand.gif
“when you see that thing on their face- like: “Entertain me.”

miles_davis.jpg
“…it makes me sick.”

sedlik_miles-hi-res.jpg
“People who like music, they seem to like all types…”

amalie_rotschild_miles_davis_192_1122.jpg
“and they don’t care if you’re black or white”

mileschair.gif
“…the real music lover.

image.jpg

So What

“For me music and life are all about style.”

507228_356x237.jpg
“I know what I’ve done for music, but don’t call me a legend. Just call me Miles Davis.”

1423382.jpg

2 Responses to “Miles and Miles”

  1. Love the quotes and everything! thats Hot!!!


Leave a Reply

